• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

AI AE vs AW

jmar

Supporter
Minuteman
May 16, 2017
Montana
I have a AW and was thinking about selling it and buying an AE. I could get about 4 grand for the AW and AEs seem to go for 1,500-2,000 so it would give me a lot of room to buy a few things I could use. You see I'm just starting out my long range shooting journey and I thought getting an AW would be a good turn key beginner rifle with some collector value. I really love the thing, I've only shot it once so far but it got a 3 shot group that could be covered with a dime at 50 yards. That was just during sighting in, I was going to take it to 100 but needed to leave the range. As a beginner with no training it really blew my mind a gun could be that accurate. But I wonder if right now I would be better off using the money for other things.

I was attracted to the AW because I am probably more of a collector than a shooter, but now that it is summer I want to get out more this year and change that. Money is tight and for the type of shooting I want to do I could really use some of the basics still like a spotting scope, range finder, backpack, weather meter, sandbags, shooting mat, hell I don't even have a cleaning kit or a good pair of safety glasses and muffs yet. The AE while not having the value the AW has it still has the overall iconic look of the AW and I really like the ergos on it.