• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Best Handheld Topo GPS??

Nomad Farrier

Nomad
Minuteman
Jul 25, 2009
NE Oregon
Hey guys would like to get a real nice handheld GPS mainly for hunting. Ive had Garmin's in the past but Im assuming that they are extremely outdated. Any suggestions?? Thanks!!!!

Ive been running a garmin etrex 30 for close to two years. Works great, decent battery life, and color screen. Only bad part is having to buy the maps by region for around 100 bucks. Still worth it in my book

Bought a Garmin 650t last year and combined with the Hunting GPS maps and satellite imagery makes an awesome unit for hunting.

Got a smart phone. Download backcountry navagater pro. It's ten bucks and is awesome.

Stick with the Garmin:

1. Battery life is very good
2. coverage regardless of wifi, 4G etc
3. temp range is better than many phones. My iphone for example shuts down at around freezing or there abouts
4. GPS is more accurate than many smart phones

Generally, sometimes it makes sense to go with a product where all they do is specialize in one thing and do it really well. I tries a few other GPS units also in the Past, but always ended up going back to the Garmin. I tried Delorme and another one I can't remember, but really liked the GPSMap series best. I think if you need a GPS with topo, going with the Garmin + the Hunting GPS maps is a very good idea (gives you the topo features + Game management areas).

If you get a newer version of the Garmins, you can also load the National Forest MVUMs (Motor Vehicle Use Maps) as an overlay with the Hunting GPS maps. My GPSMap 60csx won't do that, but the next newest one will...

Garmin 62 series with maps from huntinggpsmaps.com for your hunting area. Best combo on the freaking planet.