• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Savage 6.5 creedmoor build.

Jrogers05

Private
Supporter
Minuteman
Dec 2, 2011
DAWSONVILLE, Ga
I am a noob, and want to build a intermediate range tactical/varmint stick

Thinking of starting with

Savage action
Manners T5A stock
A Krieger barrel 24"
Timney drop in trigger

I am looking for some input.

1. What calibers can I use that I wont have to change the bolt head.

2. CDI bottom metal reviews. Other than pricey mags!

Recommendations for glass. Been a Leopoldo fan for a longtime. USO/NF are a bit pricey right now ( have a new baby).

Just looking for some wisdom and input from y'all.

Thanks.

Re: Savage 6.5 creedmoor build.

CDI is top notch. there is no such thing as a cheap mag unless you keep the factory DBM and get some ratmags made. i know nothing about your caliber. i dont even know if its short action or long, but z71rat will make a low cost mag that will hold 10 or 15 if you want for the factory DBM in short action.

and actually AI compatible mags are decent priced from a few makers at $50 ish and there is a group buy going now a few sections down

Creedmoor is the .473 boltface (same as a .308/.243) If I were you I think I would buy the cheapest savage or stevens I could find with the correct boltface, then sell off the barrel and stock.

Savage also makes the LRP (heavier action with light accutrigger) in 6.5 creedmoor, which would be a good way to go if you are on a budget.

Good luck with your build and let us know how it turns out!

I had a custom 6.5 Creedmoor Savage with a Leupold Mark 4 on it and it was a laser. Can't go wrong with the savage. Look into Accurate Mag bottom metals if you want to save some money.