• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Top notch Gunsmithing School?

Nomad Farrier

Nomad
Minuteman
Jul 25, 2009
NE Oregon
Although I truly enjoy what I do for a living ( I'm a horseshoer ) I've come to realize that for one my body won't hold up to this trade for as long as I'm going to have to work, and I despise where I must practice my trade ( Komifornia ). Sooo since my true passion is for firearms and shooting I've decided to put myself through a Gunsmithing school. I don't want to just go through any old school, I want to go to the best. So where do you all recommend? I'd really like to focus on precision rifles and 1911 platforms. Thanks!!

Re: Top notch Gunsmithing School?

Yavapai college in Prescott AZ. the head of the program is Alan Lohr.
I will warn you that its 2 years of hard work.

2nd Trinidad,

That is where i received my Degree in Gunsmithing.

Amazing teachers, tons of knowledge. Keith Gibson, Speedy Gonzales, Dave Nolan and i think they've hired a number more teachers since i graduated.

I went to Pennsylvania Gunsmith School and if I could do it over I would have just went to machine shop classes instead.But I am not sure about the other schools.PGS is a 16 month course.

'Trinidad is great' has come from many reliable sources.

Depending on your time and budget a number of these schools offer NRA Summer Programs (one or two week classes). Lassen College's GS program in Susanville, CA switched their entire program over from semesters to the week or two format. Their 2012 Summer NRA schedule is out:

http://lassengunsmithing.com/html/frame01.htm