• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Used MPA 6.5 Creedmoor - How can I tell if it is a Curtis action or ARC CDG action?

VegasAg

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Oct 30, 2020
Houston
I came across a used MPA 6.5 Creedmoor at my LGS. I heard MPA uses the ARC CDG, but previously used Curtis. I'll buy it if it is a CDG action, but the action is branded MPA.

What do I look for to tell if it is a Curtis or ARC CDG?

...and yes, I'm a noob to the nuances of various actions.

just look at pics online. It will be obvious as they have many differences. Or you can let me know where it is and I will check it out for you.
Jerry V

I'll do a closer look at pics online. I'll take pics of the action tomorrow.

Thanks.

So based on close inspection of online pics of both actions, it appears this used MPA has a Curtis.

The rifle has a heavy contour 26" 6.5 Creedmoor barrel.

$1499.00 lightly used.

I'm looking for a dedicated long range target rifle as I already have a few shorter barrel 6.5 Creedmoor barrels for hunting.

What say you SH? Good buy? I can also get a Savage 110 Ultra Lite $1599 with proof barrel and put in my HNT26 chassis. But i guess that comes down to Curtis action or good ole fluted Savage 110 (which I already have in 6 ARC). Alternatively, I can get a prefit for my TL3 but I don't want have to change barrels often even though I do it myself at home with Go - No Go gauges.

I love this sight for the experienced shooter's insight for a noob.