• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

0 MOA or 20 MOA Ring(s)

WilliamH4

Private
Minuteman
Oct 6, 2021
Indiana
I just ordered and received a Tango4 4-16X44 for my Tread 716i (7.62). I had an ACOG 3.5X mounted, but wanted more magnification. I'll be ordering optics for my RPR .300 PRC within a couple of months and thought this would be a good way to get some exposure and practice using a scope. I'm new to optics, I want to be sure I understand what I've been reading. I won't be using the Tread for "precision" shooting but would still like to be able to reach out a few hundred yards (500-700 maybe). I read something online suggesting 0 MOA ring(s) should be used for 0-500 yards and 20 MOA for 500-1000 yards. Well, I want to shoot out to somewhere in between. If I mount optics using the 0 MOA ring(s), won't I only need to holdover if I want to reach out beyond the adjustments of the scope? Holdover is preferred to holdunder, correct?

That model optic appears to have a total amount of internal travel of 90 MOA, split that and if you were able to zero at optical center you'd have 45 MOA of elevation to use. However, that rarely happens, you'll always eat up some elevation when zeroing with a 0 MOA mount so realistically we'll say you'll have in the neighborhood of 30-35 MOA depending on the ammunition, velocity, etc.. Still not bad and it gives you plenty to dial out to your indicated desired target ranges. Dropping the scope in a 20 MOA mount will add 20 MOA on top of that 30-35 and give you some extra wiggle room, which is never a bad thing, and let you dial for elevation basically well into the transonic range of the rifle.