• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

0 MOA vs. 20 MOA Mount for a ZC420

AuNEagle

Private
Minuteman
Nov 10, 2020
Bettendorf, IA
I need some rifle/scope setup advice. I’ve read some similar threads and have a feel for the recommendations given in those instances. However, the threads I found seemed more like rule of thumb types of information rather than mathematical examples. I know it will help me, and perhaps others, to work through a more detailed example.

I have a Wilson Combat 300 HAM’R on order. (I know that there are varying opinions on this new cartridge. However, it interests me and the rifle can be easily converted to a .223 with a simple barrel change.) I also have a ZCO ZC420 on order to mount on this rifle. (As a long-time photography buff, I love good glass.) When I ordered the ZC420, I also ordered a Spuhr 0 MOA mount. But now I am having second thoughts as to whether I’d be better served with a 20 MOA mount.

This rifle is going to be setup primarily as a hunting rifle. I anticipate that the vast majority of my shooting will be done within 400 yards. However, our local gun club has ranges out to 600 yards, so I may want to shoot steel at that distance occasionally. Although there are higher velocity, flatter shooting options available, I will initially be zeroing the scope for 130 gr. Speer HAM’R HOT-CORE rounds (2510 fps, 18” barrel). I’ve used both JBM Ballistics Trajectory-Drift calculator and Swarovski’s Ballistic phone app and gotten similar bullet drop results for this round.