• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing 1/2-28 on a 7mm .284" ?

Rprecision

Sergeant
Minuteman
Nov 9, 2011
Progressive Hell, CO
I had a barrel dealer recommend a 1/2"-28 muzzle thread for a sporter weight 7mm barrel.

By my calculations that would leave a thin profile from bore to root of the thread at .109" seems a bit thin for my comfort level. Anybody have any guidance on this? I think it should be a 5/8" 24.

Thanks

I have 5/8"-24 on my 280AI. I think that is usually the standard for like 6mm and up. Only seen 1/2"-28 when I look at building a vudoo 22lr barreled action. I'm no expert though.

Reactions: Rprecision
That would be why it was recommend you thread it 1/2-28 and not 5/8-24. Your muzzle is a little too thin to be threaded 5/8-24 while comfortable having a shoulder. You'd likely need to be at .650" at a minimum. Most like to see at least .725". That would give you a larger wall thickness, but not a great shoulder.

You get into a thin enough barrel and 1/2x28 or 1/2x32 are the only options. I have threaded many .30 caliber barrels 1/2x28. I don't like doing it, but you have no option if your barrel is only .600 or smaller at the muzzle. If you do 9/16x24 you will have such a small shoulder that you can actually deform the shoulder without much torque on the muzzle device or suppressor.

I recommend doing the threads with no thread relief if the muzzle device can accommodate that. This keeps more material at the base of the threads where they are more likely to fail. I have threaded a .300 RUM 1/2x32 and many .30-06's 1/2-28 and have not had one fail.