• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

1/9 223 bullet weights

mosin46

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 11, 2010
florida 32621
a pretty non specific open ended question. likely get me some s _ _ _ but...
might be trading into a 1/9 223 bolt gun and wonder about performance with 68/69gr match stuff. what people have found or seen. all the 5.56/223s i have and had,bolt or AR, are 1/8,1/7. i doubt 77gr is worthwhile in 1/9 but i have no experience with that twist rate. just wondering if i will be stuck in 55 or 62gr. range 300yd and maybe 600 yd. 300 yd light bullets OK i'm sure but 600? i know i can try 69gr but asking what others have seen.

My old Remington SPS Tactical with a 20", 1:9 wouldn't keep the 75gr Amax or 77 SMK together, but was lights out with the 68 Hornady and 69 SMK.

Reactions: lyman
69 SMK is the best bet. Push it or not. Factory match ammo like Federal is not a hot load but easy enough to use to see for yourself. I have also used 73 ELDM with success at 3000 fps in a 24” 9 tw. Several 24”5Rs all liked the SMK.

75 Amax in Salvage 20” and 26” barrels is just fine for me in low elevation of WI. I haven’t tried any of the new fangled stuff.

There`s overlap. My Model12 LRPV in .223 1:7 really seems to like 68 and 69 grain match loads but my 1:9 110 will shoot them as well.

Built a Savage Striker in .223 for my wife to shoot silhouette. it was too heavy for her to shoot effectively, but it was a great shooting big ole bolt action handgun. It had a 1/9 barrel and fired 77 grain Sierra Match Kings exceptionally well. Now we had it cranked way up, getting over 2500FPS out of a 14 inch barrel. BLC(2) can be a lot of fun and a real blast to shoot.