• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

1 moa at 100, 3 moa at 300. How?

doubleduck

Private
Minuteman
Oct 30, 2022
auburn
I have some experience at reloading. I have created respectable loads for my 300 SAUM, 308, 270 Win and 6.5 Grendel. My Dads 1950ish Savage 110 in 30-06 has me stumped. I have created a load using H4350 and the Hornady 165 SST and 165 Interbond. It shoots approx 1 moa at 100 yards but when I move to 300 yards it blows out to around 2 3/4 moa. I don't get it. I don't think there is any way a 165 grain bullet would not be stable. I haven't had this issue with any of my other developed loads. Any advice is appreciated.
Frustrated

Clearly your bullet is not going to sleep…

100 is where you start dialing in your load. Not where it ends. Start looking at charge weight. Then twist vs. bullet.

Also, what is your group looking like? Stringing left? Right? Vertical? Flyers? Called flyers? Wind.

This is nothing new in handloading. It’s part of the fun.

Last, A good precision rifle should be well… well under 1moa at 100 anyway. So if you are getting 1” groups at 100, not 1/2” or 1/3” with handloads…. Look at rifle? Scope? Ssetting parallax right? (A big thing folks don’t understand). But clearly you do! Because you shoot modern guns and calibers and have handloading dialed in.

But that is not the issue here… it is a 1950’s savage! It’s not going to print much bigger than minute of deer at 300… also, possibly too light a bullet. Back then 180 grain was sort of “the hunting” round in .30. Probably twist rate was optimized for it. Try slowing it down and using a 180.

Loading for old guns (and expectations) from wood stocks, pencil hunting barrels and even old scopes is far different from modern stuff.