• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

$1000 6.5 CM rifle

jig-n-pop

Private
Minuteman
Oct 30, 2022
NC
Guys have been great helping figure out a caliber that will work for me in the Recoil Comparison thread I started. To recap I'm new to rifles, have a bad shoulder and joined a club with a 450yd range. I need a 99% range gun 1% hunting rifle and have settled on 6.5 creedmoor.

For a rifle, I said I'm thinking either Bergara HMR or Savage Axis II Precision. Savage was shot down pretty quick, Bergara is OK but Tikka is the way to go. That said, I'm limiting my budget to $1k so Tikka is out.

So, is Bergara HMR best I can do for $1k? Other option I found would be to get a Howa heavy barreled action and an MDT Oryx chassis from Brownells.

Would appreciate opinions and other suggestions.

Reactions: 338dude
Guys have been great helping figure out a caliber that will work for me in the Recoil Comparison thread I started. To recap I'm new to rifles, have a bad shoulder and joined a club with a 450yd range. I need a 99% range gun 1% hunting rifle and have settled on 6.5 creedmoor.

For a rifle, I said I'm thinking either Bergara HMR or Savage Axis II Precision. Savage was shot down pretty quick, Bergara is OK but Tikka is the way to go. That said, I'm limiting my budget to $1k so Tikka is out.

So, is Bergara HMR best I can do for $1k? Other option I found would be to get a Howa heavy barreled action and an MDT Oryx chassis from Brownells.

You should be able to find a tikka ctr for $1000 or less new.
I’ve seen them sell on here for 800.
The bergara is very nice, the stock is nice also, but I prefer the tikka action, trigger and bolt throw.