• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes $1000 scope budget

badshooter

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 5, 2008
South Arkansas
I'm looking to upgrade my Viper 4-12x40 on my SPS-T. I would like some sort of mildot or ranging reticle. I thought about the IOR 3.5-10 and the Mark 4 3.5-10 I really like the IOR reticle. What are the recommended scopes? I have never had a scope over $450, so I'm new to the real scopes. I want something dependable, it will not be for duty/work, just hunting/range shooting.

Re: $1000 scope budget

The Mark 4 is a very good starter.

If you decide to go Leupold - I'd suggest the TMR reticle over the standard mil-dot. But that's just me.
wink.gif

Ditto ADZE: Leupold 4.5-14X40mm or 4.5-14X50mm with M1 knobs and TMR reticle are GTG.

check out liberty optics i think they had a 3.5-10 on sale for 899. really clear glass and personally i like the mp8 reticle more than a regular mildot.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: osuarchitect</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sightron SIII would be a safe bet. </div></div>

+1 Very nice glass for the price!!!

badshooter,

I can recommend 3 under $1k:

IOR 2.5-10x42mm FFP illuminated Mil/MIL knobs for $899.00 from Liberty Optics, Link, and then scroll down:

Lberty Optics IOR 30mm scopes

SWFA SS 3-9x42MM FFP MIL/MIL knobs from SWFA for $599.95, or loaded from SWFA on Ebay for the same price; Link:

SWFA SS 3-9x42MM

Falcon Menace 4-14x44MM FFP MIL/MIL knobs from RW Snyder for $390.00; Link:
RW Snyder Falcon Menace

I own and have used other scopes, like Leupold MK4 3.5-10x40MM, and Bushnell 4200 6-24x50MM T, but those have MIL reticles and MOA knobs, and Mil/Mil scopes are much easier to use.