• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

125 grain tmk 308

Dantrom

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 30, 2009
northwest ohio
I'm just getting into loading and am seeking a little guidance.

Can anyone recommend a powder for loading the 125 grain Sierra TMK in a 308?
Thanks

Thank you.
I know it's a light bullet. I love shooting the nosler loaded 125 BT rounds.
Accidently bought some of the Sierra bullets and might as well they them out.

Right now all I have is varget and benchmark..

I'm just getting into loading and am seeking a little guidance.

Can anyone recommend a powder for loading the 125 grain Sierra TMK in a 308?
Thanks
-
ya you need little faster powder . for the 125's
I use 110 grain and 308 win. . I use Reloader 10x and I swear by it .
I ran a bunch of loads with the 125's with 10x . but it would not group as tight moving up the extra 15 grain weight . 10x is just tad to fast for 110's .
Reloader 15 and 125 weight, and I was not satisfied using it with groups and also Vel. . It to slow for 125's .
So burn-rate in-between Reloader 15 and Reloader 10x should be perfect for 125's .

Reactions: Dantrom
Hodgdon lists loads for both powders in there load data. Note, it is with the 125 Sierra SP bullet. Might not be the best powders but should work. I think I would try IMR 8208XBR or IMR 3031 if those don't work.

I shoot 110 ttsx with AA2230 and it gives insane velocities and accuracy is very good. That powder is like a unknown gem for lighter bullets in 30 cal.

Start at 50-51 grains at work up to 53 max. I landed at 52.5 which is half a grain under Barnes book max and it’s a .5-.7” 5 shot group load