• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

18” .308 help

DW308

Private
Minuteman
Oct 14, 2023
Arkansas
I’ll start out by saying I’m completely new to this, but I recently purchased a browning Xbolt Speed SR in .308. I’m trying to get it dialed in for hunting season and am unfamiliar with the .308 caliber and it’s ballistics since I grew up hunting with a .270. I do not have a suppressor on my gun at the time but might look into it in the future. I went to the bench and shot my gun today and had it shooting about 2” high at 100 so I backed out to 200 yards and shot a couple of times. I was surprised to see that the bullet drop was about 4” low at 200. Is this common for a shorter barrel .308? I’m using factory Winchester XP 150gr bullets and the ballistics on the box showed that 2” high at 100 would be zeroed at 200. I apologize for my ignorance with this whole situation but would like to learn more about my new riffle and my situation.

Factory ammo speed on box is more than likely from a 24 inch barrel. Your not going that fast more than likely.

Factory ammo speed on box is more than likely from a 24 inch barrel. Your not going that fast more than likely.
I figured I was going to be a far bit slower than the barrel the ammunition was tested with. I’ve done some searching to try and get a rough estimate on speeds out of an 18” barrel. From what I’ve seen it still seems shocking to me that it there is that much bullet drop for me when I shot today.

Depends on what number you believe, but ranges from 25-50 fps loss per inch of barrel. I’m your case that could mean anywhere from 150-300fps or better depending on all the variables combined.