• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Sidearms & Scatterguns 1911 Comparison

Quackaddict

Sergeant
Minuteman
Nov 7, 2009
Minnesota
Hey guys,

Looking real hard at a couple of 1911's and need toe collective opinions of this forum.

I am brand new to owning sidearms, I have ran a number and am in love with the 1911 style.

My requirements:

Gonna be used as a range/fun gun
1911/45 acp frame, please no other recomendations
Prefer stainless or two tone.
I really like the laser option, I would like a weapon with one.

I did some looking around tonight and found a couple options.
There is a Kimber Pro Carry II Crimson Trace for 999.99, this is an aluminum frame/blued steel slide gun.

The second is the S&W E-series with the same crimson trace grip setup, all steel all stainless. This weapon is 999.99 as well.

The S&W seemed to have nicer sights, beavertail, and magazines. However is much heavier than the Kimber.

The salesman said the S&W shouldnt even be an option with a Kimber at the same price point. Do you all agree? Is there anything mechanically that makes the Kimber a better weapon?

Really appreciate any help you guys can give me.

Re: 1911 Comparison

not even in the same playing field. the kimber is a far superior weapon. the e series is a cast frame and the checkered front strap is cast into the frame not cut. the mainspring housing does not fit into the frame and creates a sharp edge that pokes into the palm. also the smith has an external extractor which in my opinion has as much place on a 1911 as a light rail or a bushingless barrel