• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes 20moa base or normal moa base?

villhelm

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 11, 2010
oregon
whats the differnce between a 20moa base and a normal base? Could someone explain, im new to lr shooting and trying to setup a rem 700 w/ a Nf scope and trying to decide which base i should use ill probably be shooting from 300yards to 1000 and i'd like to know which will work better for this, thanks!

Re: 20moa base or normal moa base?

Get the 20Moa base it wont hurt.

Basically the base is machine with a taper (20 Moa) as opposed to being completely flat (no MOA).

If you were never intending to shoot beyond 500 i would say dont stress, but if you have the 20MOA base, it gives you more elevation adjustment to take your reticle out further.

There are basically two thing to consider here

1) how far you intend to shoot
2) how much available elevation adjustment the scope you intend to use has

Scopes that offer 100 or more MOA in elevation adjustments can often take most calibers out to 1000 yards with a flat base.

However a scope with only 50 MOA internal adjustment, on a flat scope base, wont take you there.

If you intend on buying a high end scope, in my opinion, you may as well get the 20MOA base. If you intend on getting a low-medium priced scope that offers less in the way of adjustments, get the 20MOA base and it should help you get to that 1000 yard mark

Just because you're new to LR I'll try to explain.

When you center you scope to lets say 100m on a flat base the reticle is in the middle of it's elevation level (as well as).