• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

22-250 Ackley Questions/Help

DownWindOutdoors

Private
Minuteman
Apr 28, 2011
New York
www.downwindoutdoors.com
I am building my first custom rifle on the Model 700 platform and I was looking for some opinions on the 22-250 Ackley. I am going to admit, I like the cartridge mainly because of its cool factor and the extra velocity. This gun will be a predator gun so quick follow up shots will be abundant, how does the round chamber? Also, does the higher angled shoulder really help in accuracy compared to the 22-250? I plan to shoot 55gr rounds.

Thanks,

Eric

I am no expert by any means, however from reading I notice many people go the AI route running a 8". Then use something around the 75gr bullet range. They go AI for the extra velocity...again I could be wrong, but the majority I see end up that way. I have been wanting to build a 8" 22-250AI for few years now. If 75gr AMAX ever start showing up back on shelves ill probably end up heading down this road.

22-250AI is really not needed at all, the standard 22-250 has all the horsepower you need. However, I'm with you on the "cool" factor. I hate the body taper of the 250 case, and the AI version looks sweet.

No trouble feeding.

Do it.

I have an ackley in a different caliber, +1 to only trimming your brass once every 7 firings or so.

Ackley improving the .22-250 case will net you performance parallel to a .220Swift.