• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.223 federal brass

Dildobaggins

Major Hide Member
Minuteman
  • Jun 26, 2020
    So I'm extremely new to reloading. Just bought everything I'll need to start out loading .223 I was looking into buying brass, but before the pandemic I bought 2,000 rounds of federal 62 grain fmjs. Fired about 1000 rounds of it. I was inspecting the brass that I fired, and noticed that not one case was 1.750 or longer. Measured about 100 and they are all in the 1.73s. about 50 we're exactly 1.738. is this common with federal brass? Would you fellas reload them? And will consistency be effected at all? Thanks

Reactions: Snuby642
    Good now you dont have to trim them for a few loadings. If you are shooting them in a gas gun like me most of the time you are not going to notice a difference . Try it yourself trim a bunch to same length and compare groups with a bunch that you didn't trim. Just dont let them get to long thats when you get problems.

You are probably going to have to get the crimp out of the primer pocket.and also you have to measure the length after you size them.

Run them as is with a debur if necisary.
    Run them till they pass trim lenght then trim.

I run 2-300 lots of head stamp sorted range brass and they always vary.

Reactions: Dildobaggins
    They are going to be shot in a gas gun. Thanks for the info! Wasent even thinking about the primer pocket until you mentioned it. I was too hung up on the case length. Haha

I'm curious to see if they will even last that long to have to be trimmed. From what I read federal brass isn't optimal, but I'm cheap, and if it's free, then it's for me.

On range brass fancy brands don't cause a stir from me.