• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

F T/R Competition 223 FTR Reamer and Freebore

_Raining

Private
Minuteman
Feb 14, 2017
I am new to the FTR scene and I am a bit unsure of what I should set my Freebore to be and if there is a specific reamer I should request. After googling a bit I am quite confused, I found a thread where two shooters mentioned they use a freebore of .169" and another said they use .212 and jump the bullet .010" but then I found others saying they use a freebore of .098", 0.100", 0.085", .120" etc. That seems like a large difference in freebore considering everyone of those mentioned FTR with ~80/90gr bullets. Can someone school me on the 223 freebore commonly used for F/TR.

-Thanks-

Ogive profile has a lot to do with how much freebore you need. What bullet do you plan to use? What is the alternate bullet?

Ogive profile has a lot to do with how much freebore you need. What bullet do you plan to use? What is the alternate bullet?

Well the fastest twist option I have as an option is 1:7, so it looks like the best bullet I can get is the 80gr Berger VLD, secondary being Hornady 80g ELD match or Sierra 80g HPBT.