• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.223 Hodgdon Powder

Tactical30

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
May 5, 2009
Eastern Ohio
What are the best Hodgdon powders to use for .223 ammo?

52gr.?
62gr.?
68-69gr.?
77gr.?
I am new to reloading and would like to try this powder first.

Also Can you reload Hornady TAP casings? Better? Problems?

Thanks guys.

Re: .223 Hodgdon Powder

I'm liking Benchmark so far with the 50's.
Varget worked very well with the 69-75's.

I'm seconding the Benchmark for 50's. I haven't played with any larger ball because I am developing a Varmint load.

I'm shooting a 55 Gr Blitzking right at the top end load for BenchMark. I have been getting roughly a quarter size group at 200 yards with it.

The Varget I have been having problems with. One day I get some quarter size groups at 200 the next time I try to replicate the load I might get Moa or a bit larger. I am in the 25 Gr of Varget range right now and climbing.

H335 I had great groups when the temp was in the 50's and 60's and then when it warmed up I was getting three inch groups with the same load.

IMR4895 I have got some respectable groups with it in the mid 24 Gr's of powder.

All of this is shot with a 55Gr Blitzking.

Some of my early work ups were with a 52Gr Speer Hpbt it did well also with groups.

I had bought some 55Gr Hornady Bulk Bullets and they blow as far as groups go.

I have been getting good accuracy with BL-C2 with all weights, and it throws perfect. I have used Varget, but not as good and you have to weigh it. I got a deal on RL 7 and it seems to shoot OK. I really like the BL-C2 and it will also work in my .308s if I run out of Varget.