• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

223 Rem reloading advice

Sev308

Private
Minuteman
Nov 26, 2020
Canada
Hello,

I'm looking to get some advice on making my groups tighter for my 223 reloads.

I'm fairly new to reloading and recently tested out some loads using BL-C(2). I loaded 55 rounds starting from the starting load in my reloading book and working my way up to the highest load. I started off with 25.5 grains and went up to 27.5 grains by incrementing the powder load by 0.2 grains. So 25.5, 25.7, 25.9, ... , 27.3, 27.5 grains. I loaded 5 rounds of each, and was hoping to find the node and the best group I can. Unfortunately, pretty much all my groups were around or slightly under an inch at 100 yards. There wasn't any noticeable difference. I know that the rifle is capable of way better groups. I was not able to find any satisfying results and came here to ask on what I should do and test next.

I asked a few friends of mine, and some suggested to try out match bullets like a 68 grain Hornady, some suggested to play around with the OAL, and others to use different powders. The other powder that I currently have but have not tried yet is the CFE-223.

I have a feeling that the ball powder form of BL-C(2) might be temperature sensitive to the cold and might be giving me some inaccurate results. However i'm not certain. I live in Canada, and while testing my rounds, the temperature was around -10C (14 F). Would this be an issue for the powder?

I also don't have a chronograph to check any velocities (yet).

Here is my rifle information:
  • Savage 10T-SR
  • .223 Rem
  • 24" Barrel
  • 1:9 twist
Reloading info:
  • Powder: BL-C(2)
  • Bullet: 55gr. Cam-pro FMJ SBT
  • Primer: CCI No. 400 Small Rifle
  • Brass: Remington