• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

243 win hunting load...?

Msprink05

Private
Minuteman
Oct 24, 2008
WNC
So ive got an old 243 win im planning on shooting some.. I plan on hunting whitetails with it this fall (some) as a back up and also as something to shoot while the .308 cools. My question is (since im new to reloading) what powder should i buy? And also what bullet recomedations do you have? Hunting and target, hopefully with the same powder. BTW its a pencil barrel savage.
Thanks in advance for the help Matt

Re: 243 win hunting load...?

i would pick between 80g barnes ttsx or 85g barnes tsx

varget, rl-15, rl-17 will work fine

2 years ago i hunted with my 243ai shooting 85g barnes via varget. its a giant killer, i killed 6 or so deer that year and they were all one shot kills 5 dropped right there.

even took it out to colorado and slammed some big bodied mulies, the barnes kill

IMR 4320 with 100gr Sierra Game King. 1" group @200yds wth Wal-mart Rem 700ADL. Loaded some 95gr Nosler Partitions for a Mule Deer hunt and grouped 1 1/2" @ 200 yds. Shot a Mule Deer and he fell in his tracks. Then later shot 2 white tails at home and they melted in their tracks. I put a Texas heart shot on one and found the bullet past his shoulder and lodged in his neck. It went entire length of body and stayed together. Eddie

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: shootone</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i would pick between 80g barnes ttsx or 85g barnes tsx

varget, rl-15, rl-17 will work fine </div></div>

Hit the bullet on the money. '15 is THE powder too. Varget works OK but I didn't get the velocity from it like '15 gave me.