• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

.243 Work for me??

Pill-Chucker

Private
Minuteman
Apr 3, 2019
First want to thank Frank for creating such a great place to come for like minded shooters. I am new to long range precision and would like to use build off of a .243 Remington 700 older rifle I have. What are some recommendations to get my feet wet? Would I be able to use this action as a donor action? As far as use I would like to learn load development and shoot steel out to 800-1000 yards. Also use rifle for varmint and coyote hunting. Thanks in advance!

Here's my 2 cents.

Put the .243 in a nice stock or chassis. Use good quality ammo and see how she shoots. If she doesn't then you can always true up the action and replace barrel. If you wanna use one bullet for everything you wanna do..try the 87 Hornady bthp. 1000 yard competition have been won with it..but its been quite a while:) You can push it up around that 34-3500 fps range for excellent ballistics. Or if you want to use two different projectiles..use the 65g Hornady v-max and push it to 3800ish for varmints.(55-58g might not like the fast twist..some do some don't)...and then use the 95g classic bergers or 90g eld-x for however far you wanna shoot. Over 100grains and good chance your twist wont stabilize them. You can do a lot with a .243....don't overthink it..dont throw the barrel away to get a 6mm Gay Tiger just yet.

Just get out and shoot!