• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing 243AI???

skeetlee

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 13, 2008
Central Illinois
I am loading some 107gr sierras for my 243AI. My max OAL with these bullets is only 2.760. It seems to me like there is a lot of bullet pushed down into the case. Is this ok? This is my first 243AI or any AI chambering, so i have no personal experience. My barrel is an 8 twist, thats why i am loading the heavy bullets. It just seems short to me, but then again maybe i am just too used to shooting factory rifles with those long ass free bore barrels. Lee

Re: 243AI???

Skeetlee,
Sounds like your chamber is throated for light bullets (shorter). I will check the seating depth of mine tonight if you haven't heard from someone else.

skeetlee,

How did you determine your Max OAL? Lands? Mag.?

I have a tool that measures the max bullet seating depth. The toll i have will vary slightly depending on bullet lengths. The 107gr sierra vary as much as 10 thou total bullet length. My measurement is an average, but i am sure it is with in 10 thou either way. Maybe this is all nothing, and i have sent my smith a message, it just seems really short. Thanks lee

You measuring to ogive? I hope I spelled that right.

The die seats it based off the ogive, not the tip, remember.

But ya if your measuring to find lands and compare data and stuff, probably guna want to measure to ogive

I THINK Rob01 has a .243AI, I'd shoot him a PM and see what kind of numbers he has. I'm not 100% if he has one, but I'm pretty positive he had one at some point, should be able to help ya out.

-matt