• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

260 Rem. vs 6.5 Creedmoor

oldreliable45120

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 3, 2009
Long Island NY
Im new to this forum, but not new to shooting and reloading. I've been doing that for 30 years now. In my safe i have quite a few 308 sniper rifles,TRG-22,FN-SPR,AI-AW,KIMBER Advanced Tactical,and 2 REM.700P's. This does'nt inclued my 300's,338L,and my 50 BMG's. Here's my problem, one of my 700P's barrels went south and I'm looking for something different.
In your honest oppinion what is the better round, 260 Rem. or 6.5 Creedmoor? I'm sure this topic has been covered, but excuse my ignorance for asking.
Here is my rifle specs. bluprinted 700 action,1.5 AICS,Krieger #10 MTU barrel with 1-8 twist,and nightforce scope. Just want to get input before I chamber the barrel. Thanks for any input.

Re: 260 Rem. vs 6.5 Creedmoor

I have a rifle with that exact barrel in 6.5 Creedmoor and it is super accurate even with factory ammo, which is a big plus for the Creedmoor if you don;t want to load for it. Here's a couple of groups I shot the other day when testing an old lot of ammo and a new one. The old is on the left and that is a 5 shot group. The new lot is on the right and that is a 10 shot group. .1 mil of left windage for the new lot and it will do the job.
P7080622.jpg

Both rounds are very good and will give basically the same ballistics. The 6.5 Creedmoor being newer isn't as well vetted but it's on it's way. My team mates and I have been shooting it in comps for the last year and I am very happy with it's performance. Do a search on the site and you will find alot of info on both rounds but Zak's article is a good start.

My 6.5 Creedmoor comp rifle
P3040437.jpg