• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

260 Remington brass ( who makes the best?)

Andrew863

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 21, 2018
Russellville KY
So I started shooting 260 Remington last year. I have a Tikka Tac A1 in 260 and am having a issue with loosening primer pockets after a load or two. I'm using CCI primers with 43gr of H4350 and the Hornady A-tip 153 or when i'm playing the 147 ELD-M. I first tried Hornady brass and after 32 or 3 firings the primers pockets were gone. Then I got some prime brass thinking maybe some higher end brass might help me out. I seem to be in the same boat. So I don't have any more pressure signs and from my experience I will get heavy bolt of flat primers before I lose a primer or get loose primer pockets. I have read on some other threads, where other people have had primer pocket issues with 260 rem, so I guess i'm also wondering if that is the common pressure sign of this round or do I just need to buy some Lapua, Alpha, or Peterson brass. From what I read they are some of the best but maybe someone will know which one has the best primer pocket life.

• Haha
  • Wow
Reactions: Bradu and seaflar
I love Peterson brass in my 260, shot it for a while now, then rechambered to 260 improved and fire formed it and still using it. That said the case capacity is slightly less and I am not sure 43 gns is a good idea in Peterson. The brass is thicker than most others slightly reducing the capacity and primer pockets are much tighter

Reactions: LR1845