• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Range Report 284 Winchester - twist?

michael_aos

Sergeant
Minuteman
I'm about to order a 7mm barrel for a long-action 284 Winchester build.

Right now I'm expecting to shoot mostly the 180gr Berger VLD. I may experiment in the 162gr - 175gr range as well.

I'm pretty confident a 1:9" twist would be fine for all of these.

My question is if there's any other super-long high-BC bullets out there that might require a 1:8" twist? Or anything in the pipeline? Since I'm just getting started with this, I'd hate to go with a 1:9" twist now and then discover I should have gone with a 1:8" twist.

Re: 284 Winchester - twist?

Twist = s(L/c)Xc

s specific gravity (150 for a lead core jacked bullet)
L lenght of bullet
c cal

Example a 160 gr .284 bullet is 1.40

1.40/.28 = 5
150/5 = 30
30 X .28 = 8.4

I couldnt fine any 168 or 175 grn 7 mm bullets so I didnt messure them, but they would require a tad faster twist.

So I's say the 1 - 8 is what you are looking for.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: kraigWY</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So I'd say the 1 - 8 is what you are looking for.
</div></div>

Berger's web-page recommends 1:9" twist minimum for the 180gr.

I've read some reports of other people having success with the 180gr and 1:9" twist. It may be a factor of muzzle-velocity.

I suspect I'd be OK with 1:9" for the typical, current 162gr - 180gr offerings. At least the ones I'm aware of.

JLK says 1:9.5" is optimal for their 168gr, and 1:9" for their 180gr.

I'd just hate to find out after I order the 1:9" twist there's some fancy gee-whiz-bang lathe-turned 175gr .800 BC 7mm bullet that requires a 1:8" twist.