• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

30-06 load questions

NC1426

Private
Minuteman
Dec 10, 2023
NC
Hey guys, new to reloading. I have a question on where to start when developing a load. I have a Christensen Arms Ridgeline in 30-06 w/24” barrel. I want to develop a good hunting load in. I got the Nosler 180gr ballistic tip bullets to try.

My question is that when I loaded to the minimum load on Nosler website my FPS was a lot higher than expected. I next wanted to use the OCW method at 3 or 4 grain jumps, but definitely do not want to push anything pressure wise since I’m new to it. I also checked Hodgens website for load data and their minimum load with a 180gr Nosler Etip was 49gr to max of 53.5. Noslers was 52.5 to max of 56.5. Should I start lower or stick with Noslers data?

I just want a good direction to go without pushing anything and the high FPS threw me off.

Load I used:
.02 off lands measured using hornady OAL
Nosler ballistic tip 180gr
Lapua brass
CCI 200 primers
52.5gr of H4350
2699 FPS using magneto speed over 6 shots with 44es
COAL 3.317

1) Your OAL is shorter than Noslers published data by .013 .
2) You also used Lapua cases & they used their own . If Lapua case has smaller internal volume this could be a factor .
3) You used a different primer CCI 200 vs WLR
I'm sure your chamber is also on the tighter side too . If you're going to subsitute components be prepared for different results . As you were prudent enough to go with a starting charge you were able to stay safe .