• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

30 cal bullets, lighter or heavier?

Lofto83

Private
Minuteman
Dec 2, 2020
London UK
Hi guys,

I'm new to reloading, in fact I haven't started yet.
I've just started to dip my toe into precision rifle competition and am seeking some guidance or recommendations on what bullets to use.

I have a Howa .308 with a 20" varmint barrel, 1:10 twist.

So far I've used factory ammo with 168 and 175 SMKs. I feel like the 168s start to struggle past 800 or so, am I better sticking with the 175s when I reload?

Should I be considering something lighter like 155s like Lapua Scenars or ELDMs?
Would lighter bullets work well with a 1:10 twist?

I know the 20 inch barrel limits my velocity somewhat but it is what it is and I need to make it work for now.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheers guys!

175 fgmm shot amazing out of my 16” rifle, but they are slow, like 2430fps. I’m loading 155 scenars at around 2730fps in that gun. With a 20” barrel the 175’s can be pushed at a more respectable velocity.

You already know the answer, shoot the 175. Small bc bump for very little reduction in velocity. 20” barrel is about ideal for a 308 if you ask me, and a 10 twist will do fine even if you step down to 155.

175 FGMM run slow in my 20 inch. You should be able to bump it up a bit with handloads.
I get around 2505 with factory and around 2600 with Varget.

155 Scenars are pretty popular but I think the wind runs them more at distance.

Havent tried 185 Juggernauts some what due to availability but mostly because the 175s do pretty good.

Reactions: Lofto83
In my 19" 308 I prefer the 155.5 Berger. I run it at 2755 but have a higher node @ 2840.
Its trans-sonic beyond roughly 850ish but transitions EXTREMELY well!!