• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

300 Lapua Magnum?

300wmSlick

Slick
Supporter
Minuteman
Feb 18, 2017
Indiana
I'm extremely new to the reloading side of precision rifles and have started getting everything set up to load for my 300 win mag and hopefully soon my 338 lapua magnum I recently picked up.
That being said, I know a lot of people are big on the 300 Norma, but why doesn't anyone do anything with the 300 Lapua? I searched through the threads on here and really couldn't find anything or any talk/mention of the 300 Lapua magnum.
Any help, tips, or advice would be much appreciated.

I'm extremely new to the reloading side of precision rifles and have started getting everything set up to load for my 300 win mag and hopefully soon my 338 lapua magnum I recently picked up.
That being said, I know a lot of people are big on the 300 Norma, but why doesn't anyone do anything with the 300 Lapua? I searched through the threads on here and really couldn't find anything or any talk/mention of the 300 Lapua magnum.
Any help, tips, or advice would be much appreciated.
The 300 Lapua is a CIP cartridge, but was never actually made for sale. I briefly considered doing one, but I think it’s too long for a 3.8” magazine. The Norma has proven itself well, and now Lapua is about to release brass for it (among others). No need for a 300 Lapua.

I have a 30-338 Lapua and 300 Norma. I’ve found that the 30-338 was much easier to tune and has a higher level of performance in the same barrel length. Oddly, brass is easier for the 30-338 at the moment since 338 Lapua is so plentiful. It does require some neck trimming and custom dies, so it’s not really for a beginner or for money savings.