• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

300 Norma Pressure Signs?

eod_tek

Supporter
Supporter
Minuteman
Jan 3, 2019
I'm having a difficult time doing load development and I'm also new to reloading so I'm not sure if these are pressure signs.
The load is 86.5 grains of n570, Lapua brass, 215m primers, and 215 Berger hybrids. I'm getting 3035 fps, and I've shot single shots over a magnetospeed up to 90.5 grains. I had a slightly hard bolt lift at 88 grains, but 88.5 and 89 weren't hard.
I loaded some up at 86.5, a velocity flat spot, and looking at the brass, I'm not sure if the powder on the back and slight cratering on the pirmers are a sign of pressure or not. I'm also getting a lot of residue on the necks.
I am also included a picture of once fired(not in my rifle, bought on the hide) unprepared brass next to twice fired. You can see a pretty significant difference between the two.
Looking for any feedback. The load data for n570 and 215s is all over the place and I just don't know.
Thank you!

Attachments

• 20230228_203643.jpg
    20230228_203643.jpg
    247 KB · Views: 161
  • 20230228_204607.jpg
    20230228_204607.jpg
    136.8 KB · Views: 120
  • 20230228_204613.jpg
    20230228_204613.jpg
    136 KB · Views: 133
  • 20230228_204616.jpg
    20230228_204616.jpg
    127.9 KB · Views: 142
  • 20230228_200449.jpg
    20230228_200449.jpg
    368.1 KB · Views: 127
Reactions: Ladsnipe
That's a bit of a hot load for 300-Norma, at least from my experience. I'd do a "back-off" ladder and see where I lose the primer craters ... that's always been a tell-tale sign of over-pressure for me. Are you getting a "heavy bolt" after firing? My 300-Norma reference load is:

1677681761896.png

Reactions: eod_tek