• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

300 PRC Brass Inquiry

BSDJoker

Private
Minuteman
Oct 22, 2020
Illinois
Hello,

This is my first time on the forums. I have followed conversations on here as well as the youtube videos. But I haven't been able to find any conversations that cover the question that I have, so I thought I might raise the question here. Let me start off with a little bit of information.

I have been looking into 300 PRC for some time now before I purchased a rifle for it. I'm not an expert in reloading just yet. I mainly reload .223/5.56 and 9mm for my range supply. This is my first real look into real high performance ammo for reloading. I'm experienced with most aspects of reloading, though. Except for the possibilities regarding resizing brass for something this powerful.

So that leads me to a question. With the recent shortages of 300 PRC ammo and brass, I have pondered if it is at all possible to resize the .375 Ruger parent case to 300 PRC with the proper dies. I've looked over the SAAMI specs and they're not that different, but they're different at very critical points in the case, so I wasn't sure if annealing the .375 brass and then forming it in a 300 PRC sizing die would even be possible. I know it would be a long shot (no pun intended), if even possible at all.

I use a similar process to trim and size mixed headstamp .223/5.56 ammo for my .22 TCM ammo, And it gets great results so long as the case is properly annealed. So I wasn't sure if it would work for such a high powered rifle round or not. Any assistance or information that you might have would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!
Joker

Last edited: