• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.300 PRC vs .338 LM for 1500-2500 yards

hondarider2289

Private
Minuteman
Feb 17, 2018
Looking to have a new gun built for ELR shooting, I've been shooting up to 1000 yards for a few years now and recently shot out to a mile with a 6.5 creedmoor. Going to start shoot more at 1500+ now and I'm stuck between the .300PRC, and the .338 Lapua Mag.

Pros of the .338:
Brass life and quality available is far better than the PRC
Barrel life is about double that of the PRC, I've heard 2500 rounds or so
More energy on target to spot misses/hits

Cons of the .338:
Cost of reloading components is $0.37 more than PRC
Recoil will be higher
Lower velocity

Pros of the .300 PRC:
Higher velocity's and less drop than the .338
Less recoil/muzzle blast
Cheaper to shoot

Cons of the .300 PRC
Barrel life seems to be in the 1200 round range
Brass is terrible at the moment
Less energy on target

Rifle build will be on a custom action, probably a Defiance, right around a 30" bartlein, MDT or XLR chassis. Use will be to bang steel from 500 out to 2500 with most of the shooting being done at around a mile.

If you had your choice which would you go with?
What kind of barrel life are you seeing out of these calibers?
Any other calibers you would consider?

I went with both calibers.

The farthest I've shot either is 2400 and they were comparable in performance. I hope you are wrong about the barrel life on the PRC. Many people only get 1500-2000 out of the 338LM. Cost certainly is a factor on the ammo end but probably not a total deal breaker unless you shoot factory ammo. The brass will work itself out I'm sure. Either way, you'll have a blast.