• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

300 ultra mag at a grand

jimmyrjessie

Private
Minuteman
Oct 26, 2009
Heres what i have rem. 700 300 ultra mag stainless barrle laminet stock bone stock gun with a 4.5-14 nikon buckmaster what should i expect as far as groups im new to shooting this kind of range will the gun shoot better than me at this range

Re: 300 ultra mag at a grand

I guarantee that rifle will shoot a one hole , one shot group at that range
grin.gif

You'll hit something at 1000, dirt, rock, grass...kidding. Maybe practice at 100-500, work up a good load first, get confident at closer ranges, then you won't have a question about hitting something at 1000.

Questions like this are a bit scary. I for one imagine a clueless guy trying blindly to shoot long. No offence, we all start at the beginning and gotta ask to learn.

Sounds like you need some education, guidance, and experience (something you get right after you need it).

First, 1k requires some skill, knowledge, and a small pile of good equipment. Serious marksmen don't run bone stock factory rigs at 1k, they are rarely consistently accurate. At the least, the rifle should be properly bedded and the trigger tuned. A brake would be a great investment.

Next, there's no telling how a factory rig will shoot. Chances are, if ya gotta ask, it'll outshoot you at the moment. A bedded action, tuned trigger, muzzle brake, and some load work will likely produce a fairly accurate rifle. At least a consistent tool to learn with.

Personally, I'd pick something else to learn with. Barrel life is too short on an Ultra.

As for education,DefensiveEdge.com Long range hunting how to video would be a great start.