• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.308 600-1k Bullet weight/load

gatorglockman

Private
Minuteman
Mar 21, 2010
Alabama, US
Just got done reading Tresmon's precision reloading threads. Very enlightening to say the least. <span style="text-decoration: underline">Kudos to Tresmon!</span>

I am a semi novice reloader primarily loading .223 for bulk target practice and .308 as I learn to use my Savage 10FP.

The Tresmon threads really opened my eyes to detail and consistency. One thing he said that I want to know more about is .308 bullet weight for long distance loads needing to be over 179 grn amount(ie: don't waste your time with 168 grn load recipes comment).

Can anyone elaborate on bullet grain/weight to long distance shooting in the .308 and why? Not sure but if you can give me some basic load specs or guidance and why, I would be appreciative (or PM me if it is against the rules to post it on a thread
wink.gif
).

Re: .308 600-1k Bullet weight/load

Others will elaborate on this, I'm a beginner compared to most. But basically you need the bullet to stay super sonic at the distance you are shooting for, otherwise it becomes unstable and not accurate. So to acheive this in the .30 caliber you need to jack up the load to pretty high pressures or use a higher weight bullet that maintains its velocity longer acheaving the supersonic speed at distance. Correct me if i'm wrong but that's it in a nut shell.

IMR 4064 powder. For now some milsurp LC brass but I may buy some virgin Winchester brass. I had been running some FMJ 150grn bullets....but that is changing hence my post.

Found a few great links in my research. 175 SMK may be the bullet I will load.

The more I dig, the more I find out I gotta' lot to learn.