• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.308 AR BCG recommendation

RprtasteforLR

Private
Minuteman
Apr 29, 2019
Oregon
So I've decided to assemble myself an ar10. I have an aero precision upper and assembled lower on the way. I've been trying to research a good bcg for this build but theres lots of options. I'm probably going to put a 20" criterion barrel on it and use it for long range shooting. Any help or advice would be great. Thanks !

BTW for a little more than what the Criterion costs you can get a Proof SS. You can get them under $400 for 308 or 6.5 creed if you shop around. Much better quality than Criterion all around, and cut rifled.
Criterion is 280$ right now for a 22" hybrid contour. I'm new to barrel shopping so is "cut rifled" something different than normal? Im open to suggestions on barrels as well.

Criterion is 280$ right now for a 22" hybrid contour. I'm new to barrel shopping so is "cut rifled" something different than normal? Im open to suggestions on barrels as well.

I thought they were more than that. Still worth the cost difference to get a top quality barrel if precision if your goal. The barrel is the single most important part of a precision build.

Cut rifling doesn’t induce stress into the barrel since it takes only a little material per pass. Button rifling (how criterion’s are made) induce a lot of stress and must be stress relieved. Sometimes they’re properly stress relieved, and sometimes they’re not.

I thought they were more than that. Still worth the cost difference to get a top quality barrel if precision if your goal. The barrel is the single most important part of a precision build.