• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

308 Brass Primer Pockets

1Sam167

Private
Minuteman
Jan 1, 2022
Tennessee
Can anyone explain to me the reason for the difference in these 308 brass primer pockets? They’re both large rifle. But one is flat and the other is somewhat rounded.

Attachments

• 1DD03363-EB69-47CE-906E-503EF45E74A2.jpeg
    1DD03363-EB69-47CE-906E-503EF45E74A2.jpeg
    361.3 KB · Views: 173
  • 9C81C9F0-DC4D-40A5-B4A1-94642547434E.jpeg
    9C81C9F0-DC4D-40A5-B4A1-94642547434E.jpeg
    368.3 KB · Views: 129
Last edited:
I've been shooting Federal 308 brass since the 1970's. It has varied in weights over the years and the old brass was quite soft. Having said that, I've NEVER had FC 308 brass not accept a L/R primer. I've used every brand of primers including the Wolf Russian primers that are a bit bigger than the U S primers. I use them when pockets get a little stretched.

The only time primers don't want to fit is because of a crimped in primer. I do use a RCBS primer pocket uniformer on some of my precision loads with FC brass. A primer pocket uniformer only squares the bottom of the primer pocket. It does not make the primer pocket bigger.

Your brass does not look to be primer crimped. And the domed shape at the bottom of the primer pocket can vary from mfg. to mfg. I've had some U S M-80 brass with very domed pockets, but it didn't affect the primer seating or firing of the Cartridge.

You have something else going on here if you can't seat a Winchester L/R primer.