• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

308 dies

crowsniper1

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jul 26, 2003
ky.
Are the lee RGB dies worth buying? Im just starting out and need to buy several things so i need to watch the budget.

Re: 308 dies

I'm not a big Lee fan,but any brand of dies can load good ammo if properly adjusted and used.They are cheap enough that your loss will be very small if you decide that you don't like them,and they do seem to have a loyal following. Pete

lee sizer die (i recommend full length sizing, some like the neck sizer dies. each has its own advantages / disadvantages are fine.

but i would spend alittle more on a better seater die, like a forester bench rest or redding.

THe lees are ok if your starting out, but imo if you can spend just that little bit extra, the forsters will last you a lifetime and will never need a replacement for a better quality die.

RCBS dies arent bad either, I own some.

I much prefer Forsters ezy expander. The force required is considerably less than the RCBS

I have been happy with mine so far. I picked up some once fired winchester brass and it is hard as hell to get the primer out with the rcbs dies. Going to look for some new dies this weekend.

Lee's dies are, on average, as good as any other conventional type dies. Only things you can count on to be consistantly "better" than conventional dies are the premium priced dies from Redding and Forster. IMHO.

The RGB die sets don't include a shell holder or a crimper or neck sizer as the Pace Setter and Delux sets do but the quality of the sizer and seaters are exactly the same.