• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

308 lapua brass new

EasyGravy

Sergeant
Minuteman
Mar 15, 2014
syracuse
www.facebook.com
I just bought 300 lapua 308 brass new in box at a gun show for $150. I measured a bunch of cases and they are all right around 2.010. Now Im a little new to reloading so heres my question.

I have a lyman max case length guage and I know 308 max length is 2.015. Now I measure brass at 2.005-2.010 well under max length yet it doesnt fit in the lyman case length guage for 308.

I dont think the lyman case guage is acurate, measured the gap it says to be at 2.015 yet I measure it at 2.005.

Does anyone use a lyman case guage and notice the innacuracy?

Does anyone trim new lapua brass after the first sizing?

Any input would be appreciated, constructive critism always welcome, Im a marine I can take it..thanks brent

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

That's a damn good deal.

I don't have a case gauge. Can't help you there.

I don't size my new brass until after the first firing and only if it needs it. The only prep I do to new brass is uniform the primer pockets and run the throat through the expander ball in my resizing die to get more uniform neck tension. New lapua brass is pretty tight. The batches of new lapua brass I got averaged .302 diameter and after I ran them through the expander ball they were .304 which matches my fired cases.

EG,

The trim-to length I've seen in most manuals is 2.002-5". This is a little short of the maximum length of 2.015", so that may be the difference. I won't get involved in the argument over the trim-to length vs. nominal SAMMI maximum.

HTH,
DocB