• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

338 Lapua Magnum Custom Build

pmcguire

Private
Minuteman
Feb 4, 2014
New Hampshire
Hello Sniper's Hide

I am fairly new to the Sniper's Hide so bare with me. I have been shooting since I was in the Corps back in 1975. Throughout the years I have had several firearms and enjoyed every one for there specific purpose. For a long time I have always wanted to build my own custom built rifle. I am now in the position to do this and the rifle I am building is a .338 Lapua Magnum. As I said I wanted to build my own and by this I mean I will be doing everything myself including machining the barrel. I am not a machinist by trade but I do know my way around a machine shop and I have my own Lathe and Mill so the machining work will be no problem. Over the last year I have read and watched numerous article and videos on chambering, threading and crowning the barrel so I have a fairly good understanding on what and how to do this. I also have all the tools and jigs to do barrel and action work.

For this build I will be using the following:

Action: Deviant SS from Defiance Machine
Barrel: #10 Heavy Bull SS w/ 1:9.35 Twist from Krieger
Bottom Metal: .338 Lapua CIP Detach Mag w/ 5 Round Mag from Pacific Tool & Guage
Stock: Adjustable A-TH w/ Spacer System, Adj. Clamp Bar Cheek Rest, 3 Studs (2 frt., 1 rear) and 2 Flush
Mount Cups on Left Side From McMillan
Trigger: Timney Remington 700 w/ Saftey from Timney Triggers
Muzzle Brake: FatBastard from APA