• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.338 Lapua Newbie

alexzeph142

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 9, 2010
What is the best way to start off with the .338 in terms of a new rifle/chamber and the worst part, ammo prices? Buy some Lapua brass and reload? If so, what items do you purchase to achieve match grade rounds that are reloaded?

Re: .338 Lapua Newbie

Relying on factory ammo is going to make your rifle chambered for $5 bills. Making hand loads is definitely the way to go, however if you have no experience with reloading then I highly suggest you get help from a buddy that does or take an NRA Metallic Reloading course.

The equipment you're going to need varies but expect to spend anywhere from $800-2000 depending on what you get.

I am just starting out with the 338. I bought 20 rounds of hornady 250gr and 20 rounds of tap 250gr. I also bought 100 pc lapua brass, rl25, primers and 100 pcs of 300gr scenars to reload. Still waiting to get my scope and rings before I can shoot it. I bought the 40 rounds both to setup the rifle and see how they perform. Then i can work on the reloads. It also give me 40 extra pcs of brass to reload.

For reloading, its not as expensive as you might think.
Start off with a reloading press, preferably a "Turret" type press.
The Turret holds multiple reloading dies in the turret.
You can find an inexpensive Press here -> Turret Press

For a .338 you will of course need .338 reloading dies, depending on which brand you buy. Here is a set of .338 dies at a reasonable price. .338 Lapau Mag Die Set

Of course if you want high quality reloading equipment, the price is high.
Its good to start off small, and work your way up. Reloading is a precise task, so I hope you have patience.