• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.338 Lapua reloading newbie NEEDS HELP!!

dnofs33

Private
Minuteman
Jun 22, 2012
Ohio
Gentlemen,

I am a relative newbie at reloading, but I take the craft seriously and with proper safety in mind. That being said, I have been experimenting with some rounds for my Remington 700P .338 LM.

I am having some issues keeping my groups tight. I shoot off of a Caldwell Lead Sled so I know I'm holding pretty steady when the trigger is pulled. So, I've at least removed that from my equation.

I am loading the following:

Norma Brass
Retumbo Powder
Federal 215M primers
Sierra SMK 300 gr. bullets
3.680 COAL

I'm loading with a Hornady single stage press and using an RCBS Match .338 die set.

I started at 90 gr of powder the first go around and worked up to a nice hot load of 94 gr. I was firing at 100 yards and with the 93 and 94 grain I was able to hold about a quarter size group for most of the rounds - 2 rounds floated around 1" or so from my group (I fired 10 rounds of each load).

I loaded up another set of rounds at the 93 and 94 grain. This time around I fired about 40 of each load and I'm not sure if I was able to even keep 2-3 rounds consistent. (BTW, I wrote down all of the specs from my first load and followed them to an absolute T).

When I spoke with a friend who loads rounds for his .308 he thought that my COAL might be affecting the bullet flight. So, he recommended loading 0.020 off the lands. Now, I don't have all the equipment in the world, so the way I calculated that distance was as follows:

- First, I took a previously fired casing that a bullet would slide in and out of with just a slight bit of tension.