• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

338 Lapua/Sako TRG

alpine007

Private
Minuteman
Apr 1, 2009
Hey,
I'm a brand newbie on here, so please be kind if my questions are stupid, or if they have been answered a million times already.
I'm in my late forties and have been shooting/reloading since I was about 14. The biggest rifle I have owned is a 270 Win, but I have fired 99% of my rounds through 22-250/.223/220 Swift/204 Ruger type calibers. Last week I got to go with some "big gun" guys, and I had blast shooting their 1500 yard hardware. So some questions.......
1. I loved one guys Sako TRG22 in a 308, but another guy had a Accuracy International in 338 Lapua. Is there a huge compromise going to the Sako in the 338 and saving the extra $$$ from the AI?
2. There was a lively discussion about bullets weights and barrel twist rates that day. Seemed the concensus was for 300 grain Sierra Matchkings in 1-10 twists (which is apparently a "special order" situation on the Sako). Thoughts?
3. My little guns have pretty much all been fitted with Nightforce scopes, and I really like them. Is this a good choice for a longer range rifle, and if so, what about power and objective lens size?
4. One of the guys sent me home with a magazine that showed a Barrett ad for their BORS shooting system. Is this for real? The ad in the magazine shows it mounted on a Nightforce NXS, but I can only find info for BORS combined with Leupold MK IV scopes. What's the skinny there?
5. Looks like a rifle, scope, (maybe the BORS if it really works), some brass, bullets etc., a muzzle break, bipod, dies, and case are going to land me somewhere near $8000.00. Am I being realistic?