• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

375 Cheytac flattening Fed 215s

KCORBIN

Private
Minuteman
Oct 24, 2019
Hello I’m new to the 375 rifle and had one just built.
Stiller tac408/31” bartline 8twist/xlr chassis.
I’m using Lehigh 353 match solids with h1000. I started pressure checking single rounds due to little to no info on this caliber starting with 116gr of H1000 and had flattened a primer with mild ejector swipe and a muzzle velocity of 2830. I was thinking that this is way too slow and that if I continue to back the charge down why not just shoot my 338 Lapua? Any thought or suggestions would help thanks

How far are you from the lands? Are you jamming the bullet into the rifling or even just not giving much of a jump? I've seen pretty consistent need to jump monometal bullets a little farther than cup-n-core and learned to not jam them ever. I hypothesize that this is due to the increased engraving energy required of metals like brass/bronze/copper that while soft compared to steel are nowhere near as easily malleable as lead and so don't deform as easily. I've seen exactly the opposite tendencies with cup-n-core bullets with really thin jackets seemed to suggest they like to be closer to the lands or even jammed into the rifling. YMMV but I betcha a little comparo with your seating depth (ignore group size and MV, just look at pressure signs) against a seating depth that's farther from the lands might show something interesting.

Reactions: lead.rain