• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

375 cheytac or 338 edge

Bigchaza

Sergeant
Minuteman
May 7, 2012
AUS NSW
Im building myself an ELR rig, at first i thought that 338 edge would be a good choice but then my mind wandered to the 375 cheytac.

I have a 3 kilometre range
Im building a heavy elr platform rather than a tactical rifle so recoil can be made quiet manageable
ill probably use it on goats, pigs deer and elk from a fixed position so i wont be carrying it anywhere

is it worth going up to a 375 cheytac and paying for the extra components for super performance?

I am new to the 338 Edge, I have not had mine very long, but I can tell you it is a very impressive round. I have owned a few 338LM rifles (Blaser 93 and GAP built CZ 338LM). What drew me to the 338 Edge was the relatively low cost of loading components, even compared to the LM but it came down to brass. The 375 Cheytac is in a different league, but its performance gains over the LM and Edge will be paid for dearly.

If you plan to stretch it to 3 km often (1.86 miles and change for those who don't convert) the 375 would be the choice. I would chose the Edge, but I only have access to 1950 yds max without driving 3 hrs over a mountain pass.

I don't play the ELR gain personally so my opinion is based purely on science/math/physics. In those categories the .375 CT is the champ.

ok so definitely a 375 bore can anyone tell me what is needed to from the 375 allen magnum cases and is it worth it

Kirby sells fire fired formed .375 Allen Mag brass which I think he is now using Bertram brass. The case has a 35 degree shoulder and some of the case taper taken out. I'm guessing it would get you around 100 fps or more velocity over the standard Chey Tac chambering.