• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

.408 primer and reloading question...

fracmeister

Private
Minuteman
Nov 15, 2005
Texas
www.troop1960.com
Forgive my ignorance as I am just getting started on the .408

Would I use the large rifle magnum primers for this round? I just use large rifle for my other bullets (.308, .260) but I am assuming I need to step up to the magnum primers (which I have on hand).

Re: .408 primer and reloading question...

Yes, large rifle magnums are the ticket for the 408, my 375-408 CT has a preference for Federal 215s or the Gold Medal Match 215Ms if you can find them.

I picked up the Remington 9-1/2 for large rifle and winchesters for the large magnum today at Carter's country in Houston at 3 and 4$ PER 100! Yiikes. Only got 300 of each.

Thanks

Just buy large rifle magnum, don't split them your wasting all the resources you load into large rifle primed cases.

Federal 215 MAG primers or Hotter ONLY !!!!

I have had Hang-Fires and Mis-Fires with CCI-250 and REM 9 1/2 Primers using R-25 powder.

A Mis-fire in a .408 CT. will definately get your attention, As you will "after safe wait time" have to open the bolt and remove the cart.

The question is always there, is this round a dud or is it cooking.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: 1000 YDS. IS FUN</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Federal 215 MAG primers or Hotter ONLY !!!!

I have had Hang-Fires and Mis-Fires with CCI-250 and REM 9 1/2 Primers using R-25 powder.

A Mis-fire in a .408 CT. will definately get your attention, As you will "after safe wait time" have to open the bolt and remove the cart.

The question is always there, is this round a dud or is it cooking.
</div></div>