• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

5.56 AR-15 build advice

wackedoutstudios

Private
Minuteman
Hello, everyone. I've been thinking of building an AR-15 in 5.56 and have come up with an initial build list. My list comes to around $1800 without sights or optics and that's about the top, although I'm open to at least considering more expensive options. I've decided on a 16” barrel, and would like it to be as accurate as I can get it, while not being too expensive or ridiculously heavy. Other than that, I'm open to any suggestions or even not building and buying assembled if I can get considerably more for my money that way.

I'm pretty new to semi autos, and this will be my first build, so I was hoping some of you would just look over my list and tell me if you see any issues or weak links. I also have a number of more general questions.

When a gunsmith builds an AR, what goes into it besides assembling the parts? I have a basic understanding of what goes into a custom 1911 or custom bolt gun, but am not sure what a custom AR would have done that would not be done in a normal factory build or non-gunsmith assembly.

Similarly, I believe I have chosen mostly high quality parts below, at least where I understand it would lead to accuracy and reliability. What type of accuracy would I expect from this build.