• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

50 bmg reloading?

bigdog2084

Private
Minuteman
Feb 24, 2009
blue bell, pa
I am just getting started on reloading 50 bmg rounds. I order the lee press kit from midwayusa. What else I'm i going to need to get started reloading? I know i need a scale and powder measure, but what other special 50 bmg tools will be needed? thanks for the info. also is loading 50 bmg rounds any different from loading other rifle calibers?

Re: 50 bmg reloading?

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: bigdog2084</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I am just getting started on reloading 50 bmg rounds. I order the lee press kit from midwayusa. What else I'm i going to need to get started reloading? I know i need a scale and powder measure, but what other special 50 bmg tools will be needed? thanks for the info. also is loading 50 bmg rounds any different from loading other rifle calibers? </div></div>

You are kidding me of course right? No disrespect intended. But have you had any reloading experience before?

You need lots of powder for sure. A pound of powder just doesnt go far with the 50 BMG. You need a special case trimmer also.

7000 grains in a pound. Figure one pound per 30 or so rounds.

If you get military brass, you will need to uniform the primer poackets to get rid of the crimp. Best way to do it is with a primer pocket swager. Some people uses a pocket uniformer (for the 50) to cut the crimp out.

You will need a way to trim your brass, to uniform the primer pockets and to check OAL. There are tools for all of these.

I do have experience reloading just not 50 bmg. I just wanted to know if there were any special 50 bmg tools that you need to reload them?