• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes .50 BMG Zero Distance

cuzi.defense

Private
Minuteman
Oct 6, 2013
Florida
I am new to the .50 BMG caliber and am curious what the standard zero range is for the round. I have heard allot of different rumors as to the round not stabilizing until it passes 300m and am curious if there is any truth to this.

Whilst you would need something like "Doppler Radar" to view the bullet in flight to be certain of the "stability" aspect when it leaves the barrel - personally I cannot see how a bullet would be unstable initially and then stable later down the line. If it were unstable initially then the likelihood would be it would be inaccurate for the whole of its flight. Naturally you need the right twist rate in the barrel but for me a .50BMG should be able to group adequately at 100 yards if need be for a zero. I say need be because the damage these rounds do to a backstop at Range facilities if shot into a berm at 100 yards is considerable. The club Committee/Owners usually want you to zero these at longer ranges to take some of the "umph" out of the round before it impacts. Some zero them at 300 yards - some at 500 or 600 yards.

Sounds good. I was under the misconception I would have to start at 300m or more. Gotta love bench talk.

.50 BMG Zero Distance

Unstable bullets do not become stable. A bullet is either stable when it leaves the muzzle, or it isn't.

And if you know your trajectory you will be zeroed at all distances.

Last edited: