• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

6.5 Creedmoor Large Frame AR Build Questions

kentuckyMarksman

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
May 7, 2018
Ok, so I'm putting together my first Large Frame AR. I've assembled numerous AR15s, but I have no large frame AR experience. I've been buying parts, thought I'd get some input on the parts I still need to purchase before making a mistake. So to start off, this is what I have already purchased:

1. ZEV Large Frame billet receiver set
2. 16" ZEV Handguard
3. DPMS Rifle Buffer Tube
4. Magpul PRS Gen3 Stock
5. Geissele SSA-E Trigger
6. Geissele Lower Parts Kit (the receiver set uses a standard AR15 lower parts kit)

Now, these are the parts I'm thinking about purchasing

7. JP Enterprise Low Mass Bolt Carrier
8. JP Enterprise AR-10 Standard Silent Capture Spring Builder Kit
9. JP Enterprise 6.5 Creedmoor 22" barrel w/ +2 gas system - includes headspaced High Pressure Bolt
10. SLR Adjustable Gas Block
11. +2" gas tube
12. Area 419 Hellfire Self Timing Muzzle Brake

I think that covers everything. I'm new to large frame ARs, I think all the above parts will work well together, but I don't have any experience with it. What are your thoughts on the parts above? Would these be good parts to go with?

I did something similar with 2a zanthos set. All lightweight, jp moving parts, but an ultralight smoke composites stock and handguard. 22” fluted barrel, +2 gas system. I just picked the parts i wanted and it shoots really good for a gasser.

Usually 3/8” at 100 but only gone out to 1208 yards, 6.5x47. Velocity was slow, i need to kick it up. 6.5cm should be a hot ticket with good loads.

Great! Thanks for the reply!